Languishing

There’s a school of thought out there that if you do something, you should do it to the best of your ability. Some people phrase it “go big or go home,” others will say “whatsoever your hand finds to do, do it with your might” but the concept stays the same: if you’re going to do something, do it hard.

Which could be why I’ve been so sick for the last week.

It started innocently enough, with a scratchy throat that turned into a lost voice. I could manage a weak croak, much like a frog that grew up in a monastery, but nothing louder. It wasn’t until the next day that the vomiting and the chills started. Dave has been doting on me, bringing me food and water and keeping me entertained when I wasn’t passed out in an effort to try to shore up my immune system’s defenses. His bedside manner is much better than mine. Theodore has been curling up next to me and offering emotional support, when he wasn’t off doing other things at least. His bedside manner is marginally better than mine. It’s nice to have a support system when one is ailing. My voice is slowly coming back, as is my health, but they’re both still far enough away that I have to wave at them.

While I’ve been languishing around in bed, the raspberries have started to bud!

Go Beocca!

The walnut tree hasn’t yet, and I think he’s expanded his accusations of tomfoolery to the raspberries now. It’s pretty nice to see that the raspberries have made it. We would have planted more, of course, but it wouldn’t be quite the same. I’m planning the purchase of a blueberry bush to sit near them and encourage them in a friendly spirit-of-competition thing to produce more berries. I saw a picture of a blueberry cobbler dish that looked too delicious for words, which is frankly most of the reason I’m planning to grow blueberries.

The tulips are also doing very well:

This guy doesn’t know he’s supposed to be orange.

Dave has started work on cleaning up what is apparently going to be a flower bed next to the driveway. He’s mulching it and planning a nice brick border between it and the Bee Lawn ™. After the tulips are done, we’re planning to pop some marigolds in there for the bees and various other creatures to enjoy. This includes us, too, though we just like looking at them. Our enjoyment of the nectar is a bit limited.

Leave a comment