Quiet

It’s been pretty quiet here at the Rothwell/Mewsevelt household. We’re all kind of waiting to see what horrors Third Winter will bring us. We did have one (1) day last week where it got chilly and there was some snow, but the snow melted off that same day, so I don’t know that this counts as Third Winter yet. I think there’ll be another day or two before the end of March that’ll deliver frigid temperatures, frozen precipitation, and grumbling. And probably some soup.

The tulips don’t seem to mind the occasional wintry day.

The ones that the squirrel evicted mind a little bit though.

The walnut tree and the raspberries have yet to bud. In the case of the walnut tree this is because he is old and wise and not fooled by fake spring temperatures. In the case of the raspberries… we don’t know. They’re either dead or following the walnut tree’s lead. We’re hoping for the latter, of course.

“Fools,” said the walnut tree. “This isn’t my first rodeo.” It was like its fiftieth rodeo.

Dave’s rosemary plants didn’t make it. He’s planning to try again. Third time is the charm, right?

We went to River Bluff on Sunday to hang with John and Mary. They’ve started having live music on Sunday afternoons, which is great for business but not great for my ears. It’s not that I dislike the music, it’s just that my ears are small and easily overwhelmed by loud noises. Such as live music and people shouting. So we’re planning to head to 1st Barrel this Sunday to see if it’s quieter and more comfortable. I might have to drag Dave to River Bluff another night because I saw on their Instagram that they have some sort of carbonated orange/pineapple cocktail and that sounds summery and delicious and exactly what I need in my life.

Dave is still talking about starting this year’s work on the wall, but he wants to wait until it’s not getting below freezing at night. This might be the end of the month, I see more freezing temperatures in the forecast for next week. I think the almanac said the last frost date was April 28th this year, so he might be waiting until then. Spoiler alert: he isn’t going to wait until then. I can’t blame him for not waiting much longer, I too am rather impatient.

Leave a comment