Bicycle

Wall work has resumed!

A freshly poured wall cap.

Dave said, after pouring the cap and finishing the concrete, that it was just like riding a bicycle. I assumed that he meant that he picked it right back up without a problem, but he said, “No, you fall off, get hurt, and remember why you stopped riding bicycles in the first place.” I haven’t ridden a bicycle in oh, twenty years or so, so I definitely get where he’s coming from. Nevertheless, the cap looks great, and he says that he can start filling the dirt back in now, and then get some grass seed going. I’ve heard that if you plant grass seeds the birds will come along and eat all the seeds, and the net result for you is no grass. However, we have a cat, and while he is largely useless as far as hunting things goes, the birds don’t know that, and I’m hoping that Theodore’s presence will be enough to deter seed theft.

Plot twist: Theodore is running a black market grass seed distribution ring.

The weather has been really nice lately, and I’ve been enjoying loitering outside doing nothing except exhorting the raspberries.

March Madness has come and gone for another year. We watched the championship game and I watched the team that I chose to win the whole thing do the exact opposite of that.

My reaction was appropriate.

Dave had only a little sympathy for me since his chosen team had gone out already. I have until next year to decide my next bracket choosing methods. I don’t remember what I did theone year where I actually got it right, so I can’t just go and do that again. The year I chose my bracket based on which mascot would win in a fight… that was fun but not effective. I was kind of thinking of choosing my teams based on which coach would win in a fight… I might still do that. It can’t be any worse than every other method I’ve chosen so far.

Leave a comment